Religious Life Facebook - Journeys Facebook - ITunes U - Questions?

Religious Holidays - Academic Year 2011 - 2012

 

For your information, these are the dates of major Christian, Jewish and Muslim holidays which will occur while the University is in session during the academic year of 2011 - 2012. These are provided in order that you may know of potential schedule conflicts involving large numbers of students. All students are responsible for negotiating their needs around religious practices with the professor.

Jewish holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given.

Muslim holidays begin at sunset on the evening before the date given. Muslim holidays are based on a lunar calendar, and the actual dates are determined by direct observation of the moon and announced by the mosque. (The most observant Muslims will observe all days; others may observe the first two days of Eid-al-Fitr and Eid-al-Ahda.)

Date Holiday Religion
Monday, August 1, 2011 First Day of Ramadan Muslim
Tuesday, August 30, 2011 Eid-al-Fitr Muslim
Wed., Sept. 28 -Thurs., Oct. 6, 2011 Navaratri Hindu
Thurs., Sept. 29 -Fri., Sept. 30, 2011 Rosh Hashanah Jewish
Thursday, October 6, 2011 Dussehra Hindu
Saturday, October 8, 2011 Yom Kippur Jewish
Thurs., Oct. 13 - Fri. Oct. 14, 2011 Sukkot, first two days Jewish
Thursday, October 20, 2011 Simchat Azteret Jewish
Thursday, October 20, 2011 Birth of the Bab Baha'i
Friday, October 21, 2011 Simchat Torah Jewish
Wednesday, October 26, 2011 Diwali Hindu
Sunday, November 6, 2011 Eid-al-Adha Muslim
Saturday, November 12, 2011 Birth of Bahá'u'lláh Baha'i
Wed., Dec. 21 - Thu., Wed. 28, 2011 Hanukkah Jewish
Sunday, December 25, 2011 Christmas Christian
Wednesday, February 22, 2012 Ash Wednesday Christian
Thursday, March 8, 2012 Purim Jewish
Friday, April 6, 2012 Good Friday Christian
Sat., April 7 - Sun., April 8, 2012 Passover, first two days Jewish
Sunday, April 8, 2012 Easter Christian
Fri., April 13 - Sat., April 14, 2012 Passover, last two days Jewish
Saturday, April 21, 2012 Ridvan Baha'i